The Time I Almost Killed My Sister

My sister. A few adjectives come to mind when thinking of her. Usually, it would be annoying, arrogant and ugly. But, somewhere back in my mind, the word “daring” appears.

And here’s why.

It was a warm, sunny day in France. My father took me and my family to the pool for fun. We were quite big family of five kids. My mum, dad, and little brother and little sister split up and went some kind of restaurant, while me, my sister and my brother, stayed in the pool.

Like any other pool, there was a deep end and since we couldn’t swim and we were quite short, we decided it was best to be away from it. That is, until, we played a game of truth or dare.

I dared my sister to go to the deep end. My sister accepted the challenge because she didn’t want to seem like a coward. She went under the rope that separated the shallow end from the deep end. Suddenly, she was there and she was on her tip toes trying her best not to fall. She was dancing and proving to me and my brother that she wasn’t afraid.

Suddenly, her head and body were gone. She was deep inside the water, drowning. At first, I was laughing because I thought it was part of her act. Then, I realized that she was actually in danger. I looked to the life guard for help, but he was too busy talking on the phone.

So, I just watched her drown, while my brother panicked, when it should’ve been the other way round. My brother told her to go to the side where there was a rope and for her to pull herself back to the shallow end. She was successful at it, while I was still watching her. After we found out that she was okay, I started laughing for the longest time. I laughed and I laughed and I laughed until my sister told my mum about it and she told me to stop.

Ever since the incident, I never underestimated my sister ever again. 

image credit: Google Images

2 comments

  1. 20halszj said…

    Something similar happened to me last summer. But instead my little sister’s float popped and the lifeguard had to save her.

    • almassaisd19 said…

      That is so sad. But, at least she survived.

Leave a Reply