What is the collective impact of Media on culture, gender, the economy, and you?

The media has been around for a long time, and its affects have been both positive and negative. I think some of the impacts on the media have been mostly negative, nowadays. It teaches that American culture, (or the stereotypical ‘white’ culture) is the norm, when it isn’t. So, when someone wants to express their culture in any way, it’s considered weird and unnatural. But, I also do think that it’s made some people more open-minded and accepting to other cultures.

For gender equality, feminism has taken over the media. It’s made so many people turn against many countries such as Saudi Arabia, Pakistan, and Iraq for their laws restricting women from doing basic actions. It has made many people more accepting of transgenders, men wearing makeup, women not shaving, and many more actions that in the 1950’s would’ve been considered unattractive. It teaches that women and men both have the decision to do whatever they feel comfortable doing.

I don’t think the media really portrays the economy in a specific way. But it does make people think other people are [insert adjective here], when they’re not. For example, someone might say to someone from Qatar, “But you’re from Qatar, how can you not afford that?” from the stereotype that they’re rich.

And to me, the media has only influenced me to strive to be better. To many, it has taught them negative stereotypes, racism, sexism, and more, but to me, it taught me to be accepting and not to judge other people. People judge too quickly, especially the media. The media assumes too quickly and people believe it, and it makes the assumees look bad.

All in all, the media makes people believe in stereotypes, but it’s also made people more accepting.

11 comments

  1. hansisd19 said…

    Hi Almassa,

    I liked the way you showed both sides of the spectrum about media. I also really appreciate your views about media
    Good Blog

    • almassaisd19 said…

      Thank you, Hans 🙂

  2. mahoganiisd19 said…

    I like your post. I can thoroughly understand what you were talking about.
    Thanks for the upload.

    • almassaisd19 said…

      Thank you.

  3. xiaojieisd19 said…

    Hi
    I Like how you analyse the used small background knowledge and mixed in with a bit of research. Then created a long and interesting paper.

    • almassaisd19 said…

      Thank you, Xiao Jie.

  4. aboubacarisd19 said…

    You have some very interesting views concerning the topic of Media and how it affects us. I also enjoyed the way you really went deep into the issue.

    • almassaisd19 said…

      Thanks Abubacar

  5. daniellaisd19 said…

    I agree with you that most impacts are negative

    • almassaisd19 said…

      Thank you Daniella

  6. eltinaisd19 said…

    It’s interesting that you think media is generally negative. I see your point; how media can portray different countries. Interesting point of view.

Leave a Reply